AWS Learning and Certification Path

Download the Certification paths for AWS Cloud Migration, Architecture, Development, Big Data, Machine Learning, Security and more.

Download PDF

AWS Certifications

The AWS certification path may look a little different for everyone. Because there are twelve AWS developer certification options, individuals may come into the training path with different goals from one another and, therefore, study differently. However, the starting point for every person interested in AWS training and certification is the Cloud Practitioner Certification. The AWS Cloud Practitioner Certification is meant to give individuals a working understanding of AWS and cloud functionality. After completing the AWS cloud certification, learners should be able to describe the basic global infrastructure of the AWS Cloud, identify ways to use it effectively in their organization, and how to use pricing tools to make cost-effective choices for AWS services. 

After you’ve become an AWS-certified cloud practitioner, you might be interested in taking other AWS certifications. Continuing down the AWS certification path has many benefits. Achieving AWS certification can provide skill validation and an internal sense of pride. More than that, holding AWS certifications can develop career paths in unexpected ways and open doors to new opportunities. Certifications are globally recognized and can boost credibility among colleagues, employers, and clients. The path to AWS certification can also provide opportunities to network and connect with a community of like-minded professionals. This is another reason that attending synchronous training or in-person training is a great choice if you have the option - you never know who you might meet or what kind of professional relationships may develop! The skills that are learned through the process of studying an AWS certification course are often transferable to various IT roles. Understanding cloud concepts, security best practices, and infrastructure are valuable skills across different technology domains. 
The AWS certification list is as follows, in order of fundamentals to a professional level:

  • Cloud Practitioner: Fundamentals
  • Developer: Associate level, validates the ability to write and deploy cloud-based applications
  • Solutions Architect: Associate level, validates the ability to design and implement systems that span multiple interconnected computers or servers
  • SysOps Administrator: Associate level, validates the ability to deploy, manage, and operate workloads on AWS. Workloads refer to the amount of processing or tasks that a system is expected to handle. 
  • DevOps Engineer: Professional level, validates the ability to automate the testing and deployment of AWS infrastructure and applications.
  • Solutions Architect: Professional level, validates the ability to design, deploy, and evaluate applications on AWS with complex requirements
  • Advanced Networking: Speciality level, validates the ability to design and maintain network architecture in multiple levels of AWS service.
  • Data Analytics: Speciality level, validates the ability to use AWS data sources and analytics to gain insight from the dataDatabase - Speciality level, validates the ability to recommend, design, and maintain optimal AWS database solutions
  • Machine Learning: Speciality level, validates the ability in building, training, tuning, and deploying machine learning models on AWS
  • SAP on AWS: Speciality level, validates expertise in designing, implementing, migrating, and operating SAP (Systems and Processing) workloads on AWS
While it’s not possible to say which is the best AWS certification, as every option on the AWS certifications list offers different opportunities and validates different skills, the Cloud Practitioner and Solutions Architect are some of the most popular certifications offered by AWS.

Aws Certification Cost

There are associated costs with receiving AWS certifications. However, the lifelong dividends of becoming certified should recoup the costs. AWS certification cost will vary based on the desired certification. For example, the AWS Cloud Practitioner Exam cost is $100 versus the cost of a professional or specialty level certification, which is $300. That also doesn’t take study materials into account, which often cost money. When considering the cost of certification prep courses, it’s important to keep in mind that many individuals receive pay raises, promotions, or better opportunities after completing the AWS certification path. 

The 2022 IT Skills and Salary Report found that an AWS Solutions Architect's salary was #4 on a list of the top #5 highest salaries by certification. AWS Certified Developer was #2.  An entry-level AWS developer's salary will likely vary by skill and location, with some starting salaries listed at around $77,000 and others around $108,000. Compared with the cost to become certified, which can be around $700-800, study materials included, the AWS certification salary associated quickly returns the cost of investment. ZipRecruiter reported that the average AWS solutions architect salary was $163,525 annually at the professional level. In contrast, the average AWS solutions architect associate salary was listed at $157,571. To compare, the average cost of living in the United States has been estimated at just over $60,000. Many learners who pursue AWS certifications do so to further their careers, earn higher salaries, and create better lives for themselves and their families. 

If you’re interested in pursuing an AWS certification, check out the AWS certification and learning path PDF offered above. Our training equips learners with everything they need to know to pass the certification on the first try, in addition to providing a supportive and flexible learning format.